I have a car. His name is Spud. He pretty much ROCKS.
I've had a habit of naming the family car since I was three. I've owned three cars of my very own, all of them specially named (Marv, Lucy, and now Spud). I've even helped friends name cars of their own! It's a special talent. Spud was notoriously named by the "sputter-sputter-sputter" noise he used to make when I first got him. So I named him Spud for short.
Spud's a racecar. At least he SOUNDS like one... His horn doesn't work too well, either, so the other day with the bestie in the car, a truck cut me off and I went to honk at him. Spud's horn shorted out half way through making it sound like a friendly honk instead of the "Hey jerk! Don't do that!"-kind of honk....
It sounded more like *beep beep beep!* "Dear sir, thanks for pulling out in front of us. Scared the ever livin' out of me, but just thought I'd toot my little horn to say g'day instead!"
....thanks Spud....
Also.... When I'm sitting idle at an intersection, he naturally revs. Especially when I've go the A/C going. Even yesterday I was sitting at an intersection, Spud doing his own thing, and a car full of guys of a different race south of the border from here pulled up next to me. Noticing Spud's noisy banter, THEY started to rev their car; the anticipation of a green light must've been killing them... you could see it in their faces. I just sat there, turning my music up louder, watching the busy traffic to look like I hadn't noticed. I think that got them even more excited; "Hey chica! AYE AYE AYE!! LET'S RACE!!!!"
The light turned green and they sped off. They yelled and hollered and cheered at their victory as I calmly sat in my cute little car. Silly boys...
I was turning right anyways.
No comments:
Post a Comment